/Indian Air Force Guardians of the Sky

Indian Air Force Guardians of the Sky


Indian Air Force is the air arm of the armed forces of India . It is one the largest Air force in the world. Its primary role is to secure the airspace of India . It was established as Royal Indian Air Force on 8th October 1932 . After gaining independence from the tag Royal was dropped .

President is the Supreme Commander of IAF . It is headed by a 4 star officer of rank Air Chief Marshall . At one time there is only one Air Chief Marshall in the Air Force . Rank of Marshall of the Air Force has been given to only one officer , Marshall of the Air Force Arjan Singh . This is a five-star rank awarded by the President.


Indian Air Force operates different kinds of aircraft .

  • Mig 29 , 21 Bison , 27
  • Jaguar
  • Mirage 2000
  • Sukhoi 30 Mk1
  • LCA Tejas

These are the fighter jets operated by Indian Air Force . Most of them are purchased from foreign countries  the change is coming . LCA Tejas is an indigenous fighter jet .

Helicopter Fleet of the IAF includes

  • Mi 35
  • Mi17
  • Dhruv
  • Chetak
  • Cheetah
  • LCH


Indian Air Force has been divided into 5 operational commands and 2 functional commands . Each Command is headed by an Air – officer -Commanding Of rank Air Marshal , which is a 3-star rank . So the task of an operational command is to conduct military operation using aircraft in their area of responsibility , whereas the task of functional commands is to maintain combat readiness .

  • Western Air Command
  • South Western Air Command
  • Eastern Air Command
  • Southern Air Command
  • Central Air Command
  • Training Command
  • Maintenance Command